Face Patterns

Came across this while digging through some boxes and flipping through old notebooks. Basically just a little bored doodling, probably during class. One of the boring classes where we sat listening to long winded professors droning on about some topic I can no longer remember. An academic class of lectures instead of an artistic class of creation. Although, every lecture was an exercise in creativity for me.

Face PatternsMy notebooks from over the years often contain more mindless drawings than actual notes. This does not mean I wasn’t paying attention to whatever topic was being orated upon, no. I would listen intently with rapt ear as the professor prattled on about whatever. Listening was how I actually managed to pass all those tests since I obviously didn’t take very good notes. Never understood how to take notes in class. If it wasn’t written on the board it wasn’t written in my notebook. I just paid attention in class. Studying wasn’t one of my strong suites either for that matter. The most I did was quickly skim through the book before the test to refresh my memory. It either stuck or it didn’t. And enough usually stuck for me to get a B and a B was good enough for me. Never had understood staying up all night trying to cram a bunch of facts into my head just to take a test which would last maybe an hour. And once that test was finished, how long did it take to forget everything you stayed up all night trying to remember? In many cases that hard earned knowledge would leave as you handed in your paper. Time to go get drunk.

I used to draw type of thing all the time. Faces stacked upon faces blending into and surrounded by abstract patterns and shapes. Mindless doodling as an act of escapism. Filling the margins of my notebooks or the pages of my sketchbooks. The breakdown of organic form. Yeah, I used to do drawings like this a lot. Nowadays, not so much. I try every now and again but it just doesn’t work out the like it used to. I don’t seem to think this way anymore. Guess that means I’ve evolved since then. And it wasn’t that long ago when I made this, although it’s probably longer than I realize.
I’ll have to look through the ‘Archives’ one of these days and see if I can’t find any more drawings like this. That will be a fun nostalgia trip.

Spare some words?